PIAC Prize for Altaic Studies, 2018–

In continuation of the fine tradition of the Indiana University Prize for Altaic Studies, a new medal was created in 2017 which is now officially supported and funded by the PIAC members: The PIAC Prize For Altaic Studies. The resolution to this effect was passed during the 60th Annual Meeting of the PIAC in Székesfehérvár, 2017. The original medal was sculpted by a young German sculptor and medalist Frank Förster. It features the words THE PIAC PRIZE FOR ALTAIC STUDIES on one side, and an artistic rendering of the PIAC logo (which itself can be traced back to a leather application now kept at the Ermitage, St. Petersburg), on the other side. A copy of this medal is cast in silver every year the prize is awarded.

2018 Dieter Maue (Germany)
2019 Martin Gimm (Germany)
2020 (63rd Meeting postponed to 2021)
2021 (not awarded)
2022 Sárkőzi, Alice (Hungary)